Hi from Utah

jboggess

Hi all, wanted to introduce my self, and get some advice. Ive been a turtle lover since i was a kid, had a tortoise when i was 7 or 8,, but some how it ran away,, probably a good thing because i bet i didnt take good care of it, being in a 10 gallon tank during the night :( i dont remember what kind it was... But now since im 30 i want to do this the right way this time and make a nice out door habitat. If i had my dream tortoise it would either be a red footed tortoise or a sulcata tortoise, but from my research it looks like they dont hibernate in snow? What tortoise would you recommend that can handle hot,cold, snowy,rainy and dry weather, ugh,,,,Utah weather i tell ya. Thanks all.

leigti

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
southeast Washington
Welcome to the forum. I am relatively new to tortoises and I am not familiar with one that would handle being outside year-round in Utah. A box turtle might be able to. It might also depend on which part of Utah you are in. What your specific claimant is like. More experienced people will be along soon to maybe give you some ideas. Check out the species specific section and read up on different kinds.

leigti

5 Year Member
southeast Washington
Of course, with enough preparation and money anything could work. People keep sulcata in cold climates by using heated enclosures. But if you're looking for one to hibernate then you will probably not see your tortoise for a good part of the year. For instants, Russians hibernate nine months out of the year in the wild.

Tidgy's Dad

5 Year Member
Fes, Morocco
Just to wish you a very warm welcome to Tortoise Forum.
I too am not familiar with Utah, or snow!
Sure someone will give advice soon.

Grandpa Turtle 144

5 Year Member