Tell me about Spurthighed Tortoises.

Status
Not open for further replies.

stephiiberrybean

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Nottingham, U.K
In the title really.
Found a around 1970 Spurthighed tortoise that I'm interested in. No photos yet but will post some when I get some.
But I just want to know basics care wise as well as general information about there temperament etc.
Obviously he'd be kept separate from Squirt :)

Thank you :D

StudentoftheReptile

5 Year Member
Alabama
There's plenty of care information if you peruse threads in the Sulcata section (http://www.tortoiseforum.org/Forum-Sulcata-tortoises#axzz1cZ5NA6ZK).

I'm still learning myself, but here are some "basics" I've picked up so far (mostly from the good members of this forum!):

- they get big, and they get big quick!
- If this is an tortoise born around 1970 (if I'm understanding your post correctly), its likely already an adult. This is going to be an animal that most definitely be house outdoors. I would suggest taking a gander in the Enclosures section to look at threads of examples of how keep their large tortoises outside.
- Sulcatas are primarily grazing herbivores, eating grasses and hay throughout the day. Babies can be offered "spring mix" salad greens from the grocery store.
- You won't find it on many care sheets, but humidity and daily misting is important in preventing pyramiding. Again...somewhat of a moot point for a large adult tortoise, though.
- Not only are they large, but they are natural excavators! When kept outside, be sure to take measures to prevent escape via digging under enclosure barriers.
-------------

I'm sure other members will chime in soon enough.

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
A Land Far Away...
Steph, is the sulcata the "spur thigh" your referring to? There are other species whom are often called by the same name. :tort:

DeanS

SULCATA OASIS
10 Year Member!
SoCal