Newbie Questions

Jennifer Nicole

Location (City and/or State)
Bakersfield, CA
Hi, so we are getting a leopard tortoise and I am new to the whole "being a tortoise mom" lol... I want to get all the equipment here and set up before I get him from the breeder (already have one picked out) so I need a little help. I am from the southern valley of California and it tends to stay really warm/hot here in the summer (100ish) and lows of like 35 (that's in F) in the winter (please note I already know I will have to build him a warming shed when he eventually goes outside). I keep my house at a constant 74F in the winter and 78F in the summer (I have some temperature sensitive family members). The table I am getting is 36" L X 18" W X 12" H. I know I will need a daytime heat lamp, a UVB (sunlight replacer) lamp, and I am not sure about a night lamp because my house stays so warm. So I guess my first questions are...

For that enclosure what is a good wattage for bulbs?
Do I need a night time one?
Do those dimmer thermostats work?
What humidity do you keep yours at and how? (I found conflicting articles about when they are babies)
How often do you feed them?
If you grow grass in trays inside... how do you do that?! Doesn't it need sun???

Also if you want to share pics of your table I would appreciate some idea set ups. Any information is appreciated. Thanks!

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA

TerrapinStation

Detroit, Michigan
Hello and Welcome

As usual Yvonne has got you hooked up with the right links and threads.

This si the best place to be for up to date information to make you ad your tortoise happy and healthy!

Tidgy's Dad

5 Year Member
Fes, Morocco

Jennifer Nicole

Bakersfield, CA
Hello, Jennifer, and a very warm welcome to Tortoise Forum.:)
4' by 8' would be a minimum for all but a tiny hatchling and you may have trouble with your humidity using an open tortoise table.