new tortoise help :D (starter tortoise?)

Status
Not open for further replies.

zman7590

5 Year Member
ok so im new to all of this and i got a lot of questions before i invest in this subject. first off i want to share a little bit of my background. i am an avid herp lover and have had many pets. right now i am slowly downsizing my leopard gecko collection...i had over 40 breeders at one point in time. i have had hundreds of healthy babies hatch and im always looking for new types of pets. i have had lots of kinds... turtles geckos frogs salamanders birds ferrets cats dogs bunnies squirrels ect. i have endless amounts of supplies (lights, heating, cages, tanks, supplements, ect).
OK now to the questions. my girlfriend and i have been discussing it for a while and i have decided to buy a tortoise! i want to breed them so when i buy them i would like to get a male and female together so they grow up knowing each other. we want a pair that will grow a nice size, not anything tiny or huge. sulcata and leopard looked to be a good size but i want to hear everyone's impute. what would be a nice starter breed that is easy to take care of, very curious (friendly and fun), grows to a nice size but not to big (30 to 60 pounds?) and is affordable!!!? and where can i buy them knowing for sure they will be male and female...i have a friend that bought a "male" and "female" and found out later that they were both males haha....that doesn't work. babies i would love to start with rather then adults..mainly because i want to learn there habits rather then previous owner telling me there habits. please give me input on your experience with tortoises! anything will help!

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Kent, South East England
Re: new tortoise help :D

The first thing to tell you is that there is no such thing as a breeding pair of torts. They are solitary creatures and don't take well to company especially in the form of pairs.