leopard question

Status
Not open for further replies.

scotth42

10 Year Member!
i was wondering is there a difference in the pardalis babcocki leopard and is there just a babcocki leopard i don't know if i'm wording this right, my leopard has no dots in the middel of the scutes and i have seen babys that have the dots on the sides but not down the middel. and dots in every scute from what i understand that is pardalis pardils the larger leopard. but what one has no dots in any scutes? sorry if this don't make sense.

AMBene

10 Year Member!
I have read that the P. babcocki has 1 dot in all or most scutes and that a P. pardalis may have 1 or 2 dots in its scutes, that 2 dots always meant P. pardalis and 1 dot could be either. Sometimes they are just missing a few dots.
I'll try to post my source. I am very new to this and waiting my babies, (2 P. pardalis that will arrive Friday) I have done alot of reading and was torn between sulcata and leopard. I wanted a large tortoise, but am a bit intimidated by the size and strength of a sulcata, so chose the larger of the leopards.

terrypin

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Jersey C.I.
scotth42 said:
i was wondering is there a difference in the pardalis babcocki leopard and is there just a babcocki leopard i don't know if i'm wording this right, my leopard has no dots in the middel of the scutes and i have seen babys that have the dots on the sides but not down the middel. and dots in every scute from what i understand that is pardalis pardils the larger leopard. but what one has no dots in any scutes? sorry if this don't make sense.