Hello from London!

danny---danny

Hey Guys,

Newbie here. I've just became the proud owner of two Hermann's tortoises. I'm still to name them (Literally got them earlier this week).
The reason I joined is because I have an important question and would like some advice. My torts currently live in a open top tortoise table. I did a lot of research before buying and I was advised to get a 60w basking lamp, which I did. This keeps the temp at the hot end of the table around 30-32. When I got them home and introduced them to their new surroundings they had a nose around an then went into their hide at the end of the viv. This is where they have spent the majority of their time since buying. One of them was quite lethargic and after reading more and more advice from various sources (all which contradicted each other) I decided today to go out and buy a higher watt bulb, 100 watt to be precise. I introduced this straight away and within 10 mins or so they were both out of the hide, eating and having a drink and nosey round. A few hours later I went to check on them and the temp of the table at the hot end was well into the 40's and both torts had gone back to their hide.
So basically what I'm asking is which bulb should I go for? Literally every article I read someone is using a different watt. I just want to get it right for them.
I also have the standard UV light above their table.

Any advice would be appreciated and thanks in advance. I look forward to chatting with you all.

Thanks

D

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA