First time Tortoise owner.

NamedNut

Location (City and/or State)
SW Washington
Hello and Happy Saturday! :tort:

We recently got our first tortoise, Murray the Russian from a big box store (I know, but he was too cute). Over the past 12-18 months I've been loosely researching Testudo and the care requirements in preparation. We were not planning on getting Murray when we found him but... you know how that goes. Original plan was to get captive bred, I'm still unsure about our decision because I know that the odds are very high he's wild... but we still love him and want to give him his best life in captivity he can have. Background on me; I live in SW Washington (state) this is my first reptile, I've been keeping fish specifically Cichlids for about 20 years now. Have had as small as 2.5 gallon clear up to 240 gallon aquariums, currently have one 120 gallon and have a second that will be getting setup soon. I take my fish keeping seriously and try to provide the best eco systems I can, I intend to the do the same in this new world to me called Reptiles. I'm enthusiastic about my animals and their care. We also have a cat and dog, both will not be allowed near the tortoise for obvious safety concerns.