another Sulcata Owner (in England) - Need Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

sulcata harry

5 Year Member
Hi, I am new to all this and found just the thread i was looking for so joined the site!

The story so far will try and keep it brief. I had a baby sulcata die at 7 months old (unknown but shell was soft - breeder had a few die) got a healthy replacement but as we brought it home, my mums dog jumped in the car as our back was turned and had it in his mouth, unfortunately it was bleeding and they died! Horrific to watch. Anyway the same day my dad had also come back with a 4 year old sulcata and gave me that one.

So i am just looking for the best advice possible. I live in England which obviously isn't very sunny or warm! Its warm at the moment and he is loving it outside (in a large enclosure 1m x 1.5m), really active and thriving, i bring him in at night into a smaller enclosure and he goes to bed in the hidy hole, what sort of heat source should he be getting? Is underfloor heating anygood, should I leave a heat lamp on? Don't want him to get too cold. And when everyone says he should be eating grasses and weeds is this the normal loan grass or if other variations where would i get this.

I just want to do right by him, he is ace!
Any replies would be much appreciated.
Laura.

tortoisenerd

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Washington
RE: Sulcata Owner - Need Advice

Welcome to the group Laura. May I suggest you start a new thread so you get the attention you deserve with your introduction? I'm so sorry to hear about your losses and hope you have better luck this time around. What are you going to do when the weather is colder when the Sulcata gets huge?