Sulcata cage size

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tweeter066

5 Year Member
I'm new to tortoise forum so I may mess up. But anyway I wanted to get 3-4 maybe 5 Sulcatas but the winter here is cold so how big dose a cage need to be it will be in my basement or a big heated shed outside. Thank you

ICUSleeping

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Casselberry
Why do you need so many...1 is a good number :) they like being alone anyway...but the cage would have to be very very large

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
In my opinion, the only "messing up" you will be doing is to get more than one sulcata.

Tortoises are NOT herd-type animals. They live alone in the wild, not looking for other tortoises for companionship. They live one to a burrow, and religiously chase any other tortoises out of their territory; sometimes fighting to the death of one of them.

Some people get away with having more than one tortoise at a time, but they also keep them outside in very large pens or maybe even the whole yard/property. It is just not possible to keep peace among tortoises when they are housed indoors.

In answer to your question, ONE sulcata, as a baby, can be kept in a large plastic tote for the first year. After that he will need a lot more space. Something like 4'x8'. And a year later, he'll need to be housed outside in a large pen with plenty of grass and weeds to graze on.

fiveash

5 Year Member
I have three in a outdoor 60 + x 18 and about to add 15 or 20 feet to the 60. T
I have walls splitting the enclosure into 3 if needed but open where they can roam the entire enclosure. They get along fine but they have plenty of room. The two males both sleep in my 4 x 8 shed I built for them no problem. If you want more than one you ll need a huge area and its up to the animals if they get along. Everyone of them have different personalities. Good luck

Sent from my SPH-L900 using TortForum mobile app

Tweeter066