Stethoscope - heart beat

Schatzi011

5 Year Member
Do any of you own a stethoscope? I used to live next to a few veterinarians and would regularly use their stethoscopes to check out my parrot's heart beat/lung function/etc. I have never used one for tortoises before though. I was thinking of buying my own stethoscope. Anyway, wondering if any of you guys have experience with this. Thanks.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
What would you hope to learn from using it? Do you know the normal-sounding heart beat and heart rate of a tortoise? Can you distinguish lung sounds that may be respiratory infection? If you think it would be helpful to you, go for it, but I've been taking care of turtles and tortoises since the '70s and have never needed to listen to my tortoises through a stethoscope.

I just re-read my post and realize it sounds a bit negative. That's not how I meant it at all. I'm all for anyone trying to learn more about their tortoises.

Last edited:

Grandpa Turtle 144

5 Year Member
It could be a great idea : if you listen every day or Evan once a week you could learn what the lungs sound like every day or the heart sounds like every day and if and when something changes you would know . You never know what you can do until you try !

Schatzi011

5 Year Member
Leigti, that would be great if you can let me know if you hear anything. I like to be vigilent about my animals, sometimes too much. But if I listen to his heartbeat and lungs regularly, then I would be better about detecting changes.