Regarding enclosure and lighting

Lyssa444

Location (City and/or State)
Gardena
Hello! I’m new to owning a tortoise and not much experienced on it. I was wondering on how their enclosure should be like? I’m not too sure if I have mine set up correctly. The docs weren’t much help. I have my baby sulcata in a tub that I got from Home Depot. It’s an open top and I only use one light. I was wondering how can I make a top part for it? And if I need to add more lights and what kind of lights are appropriate for them. Since it’s a lot harder to maintain his humidity I have to keep spraying every few mins. The help is really appreciated

method89

Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
Malverne, NY
You have provided little to no information but are asking for answers to everything. Please post pictures of your setup and tell us exactly what light you using. We can definitely help but you need to help us first.

Lyssa444

Gardena
The tub I use is a plastic concrete mixing tray. I have a uvb/uva light, but forgot the brand and how many watts it produces. During the day it stays at 80-90 degrees and at night I use a 60 watt ceramic heat. I have a blanket that covers the front of the tub, but that’s about it.

Attachments

• C8BDBE33-6862-43D0-BBDD-53D75FAC0A06.jpeg
    C8BDBE33-6862-43D0-BBDD-53D75FAC0A06.jpeg
    1.5 MB · Views: 20
  • 4E35B778-A5AC-4F39-BF2A-12D51E66B342.jpeg
    4E35B778-A5AC-4F39-BF2A-12D51E66B342.jpeg
    2.1 MB · Views: 20
  • 9E790D3F-149D-49C6-8B0E-0B2744D95510.jpeg
    9E790D3F-149D-49C6-8B0E-0B2744D95510.jpeg
    915.6 KB · Views: 20
  • 969F2434-6703-4035-B84A-3F9AD7DF29D3.jpeg
    969F2434-6703-4035-B84A-3F9AD7DF29D3.jpeg
    1.7 MB · Views: 20

KarenSoCal

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Low desert 50 mi SE of Palm Springs CA
Hi!