Newby, I'm Gill

gill2307

Location (City and/or State)
Birmingham, England
Hi, I'm Gill,

I live in Birmingham, UK and I currently own two, adult, Hermann tortoises, believed to be around ten years old due to their size. I've had them for nearly six years now. They are named Ernie and Mildred, although, I'm currently unsure as to whether their names match their sex, which is one of the reasons I've joined, hopefully answering the question I've been asking for a few years now! Mildred is extremely lively and Ernie likes to sleep, A LOT! When Mildred was small, she was bitten on her shell by my fiance's pet dog, who wanted to play with her. All she did was pick her up in her mouth, but sadly this mildly punctured either side of her shell. It was nothing major, and it has completely healed now, barely noticeable in fact, but we now joke that the reason she is so active, is due to her containing dog venom, and now she thinks she's a dog! Mildred is pictured below, and Ernie partly in the second picture.

Thanks!

10410596_10152766197531484_6027787940848708261_n.jpg 10639422_10152641083186484_7059835857143233892_n.jpg

gill2307

Birmingham, England
Thank you, I'll go take a couple now.
Looking at all of the websites, their tales are large and very similar, so I thought they were both males, also, both of their shells turn under at the ends, but then one laid eggs last year, which confused me!
Also, they both mount each other, almost taking it in turns! I really hope you can help!

gill2307

Birmingham, England
My torts below, and their enclosure...

IMG_8467.JPG

Below is Mildred, the one we thought was a female... she is slightly larger than the other...Mildred.JPG

and this is Ernie...

Ernie.JPG

Any help would be greatly appreciated, as I'm at a loss.

Gill x

russian/sulcata/tortoise

5 Year Member
Northern California, bay area