Newbie questions - Wierd ones!

Status
Not open for further replies.

johnhutch2000

10 Year Member!
Hi Tortoise fans!

I'm pretty new to this but I'm not chump and so have been doing my homework and read a few books and alot of internet sites about tortoise keeping but I still have a few newbie questions that are probably going to sound stupid but I though I'd ask them here for some advice.

Background:
As of Sunday next week I will be getting a 1 year old Hermanns tortoise that I plan to keep in moderately large purpose built tortoise table that I have just completed building but have not "furnished" yet.
The lighting is 1x T8 strip light with a repti-glow (i think) UVB emiting tube.
and 1 x (forgotten the brand) 100w basking lamp to give him a heat spot.
I've built a gantry that is about 45cm high and suspended both from this with the strip light in the middle and the basking lamp at one end.

My questions are these:
1. What kind of timing should the lights be on? I have read 12 hours per day but should this be for example 10am to 10pm or like fish, have an off period in the middle of the day. Also what about staggered timing for each bulb, eg, one turns on an hour before the other then goes off before. I'm totally unsure of what I should do.

2. Second lighting related question, the heat lamp "clamp lamp" came with a dimmer to regulate the temperate, how do you know when this should be dimmed/ un-dimmed, surely if you put a thermometer directly underneath it will quickly heat up and give a much higher reading than what the tortoise will feel (maybe im wrong).