Newbie here...

Cowrie

Location (City and/or State)
Illinois
Hi, I've been looking into the possibility of getting either a tortoise or some sort of terrestrial or semi-terrestrial turtle, so I joined here in search of advice. I'm currently unsure as to what species I want. This would be my first reptile, though I do have experience monitoring temperature and humidity of enclosures from owning frogs in the past. Any turtle or tortoise I get would have to be a smaller species that can be housed fully indoors, due to a lack of yard room, the presence of neighbor's cats and dogs, and unpredictable local weather conditions. I'd be willing to get a kiddie pool and cover it with screen for supervised sunbathing on nice days, but that's the maximum extent of outdoor time I'd be comfortable providing.

Cowrie

Illinois
That's the plan, thanks. What forum section would be best for seeking advice on what species are easiest to keep indoors? Tortoise FAQ? General Discussion?

ZEROPILOT

REDFOOT WRANGLER
Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
South Eastern Florida (U.S.A.)/Rock Hill S.C.
That's the plan, thanks. What forum section would be best for seeking advice on what species are easiest to keep indoors? Tortoise FAQ? General Discussion?
A lot of that would be based on your location in the world and the size of the area you can dedicate to the tortoise or turtle.
For Example, if you lived in Florida....I'd suggest a Redfoot tortoise.
In general. For an indoors and easy to keep because they stay small, my first thought would be a Russian tortoise.

Cowrie

Illinois
I posted a thread in FAQ with a bit more information, and a list of some species I've been looking into. I'm living in southern Illinois, but like I said, I intend for this to be an indoor turtle or tortoise.

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA