New baby

kirsten!

I got a tiny leopard baby yesterday. I have him in a tub which my 2 year old sulcata was living in (who just moved outside for the days) but I don't think it's warm/humid enough for the baby. I have a mercury vapor 100w for basking spot which I make 95, then che making the rest of warm side 85, cool side of the tub with no heat gets to low 70's. I'm new to the humidity thing as I got my sulcata when he was already a juvenile and was told nothing about him needing humidity. So my questions are do I make the whole tub moist? The cool side or the warm side? Where should I be putting his food and water dish; as in which temp range? I also am not too fond of the tub and have been thinking of just getting a big tank to display in my living room. I know some people like tanks for hatchlings and others don't. I was thinking of the Zoo Med reptihabitat tortoise kit 40 gallon tank to keep him in until he outgrows it. It seems easier to keep the heat and humidity in while he's so small and crucially needs it. Opinions or suggestions please!

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi Kirsten, and welcome to the Forum!

In my opinion, with babies, you really don't need a hot side/cool side. It's quite ok (in my opinion) to have an overall temperature of about 80-85F degrees. If he wants to cool off more than that, he can go into his hiding place.

In order to keep the tub humid, you pour a lot of water over the substrate, I mean A LOT, and stir it up with you hand to get it evenly wet. Then you cover the tub. As the heat evaporates the moisture, it causes the air to be humid.

I'm hatching out leopard babies right now, and they don't all hatch at the same time, so I have different sizes in here. The aquarium is getting to be too small for the amount of babies, but it's just temporary:

leopard babies 3-20-16 a.jpg