My RF loves to bury itself, is that bad?!

Status
Not open for further replies.

mel262011

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Robertsdale, AL
My RF likes to stay buried between the hide and the basking light. She'll eat, get a drink and soak, then she will bask for 5 mins and bury herself again. She is about 2 yrs old. She stays buried most of the time, is that a problem?

Tnewton

5 Year Member
No, redfoots are shy. My buddy has several adults and they stay hidden most of the day, comimg out every once in awhile to eat/drink then back to the hide. Im no redfoot expert but from what I see its common

mel262011

5 Year Member
Robertsdale, AL
The reason I am asking is because I had another RF that would partially bury itself under the basking light all day after it did the same routine. Unfortunately I had to rehome that one because it was having territorial issues.

Tnewton

5 Year Member
mel262011 said:
The reason I am asking is because I had another RF that would partially bury itself under the basking light all day after it did the same routine. Unfortunately I had to rehome that one because it was having territorial issues.

Well as far as I know redfoots dont need a basking spot and theh dont prefer hot temps. I would say ambient temp of about mid 80's and your good to go

mel262011

5 Year Member
Robertsdale, AL
So I don't need a basking light? I thought they needed that to help them digest their food. I use one because I can't take them outside, I live in an apartment complex.

Tnewton

5 Year Member
mel262011 said:
So I don't need a basking light? I thought they needed that to help them digest their food. I use one because I can't take them outside, I live in an apartment complex.