Lettuce

Saphire1313

Location (City and/or State)
Magna utah
I am new to having a russian tortoise. How in the world do i keep the lettuce from going bad? Also what else can i feed him. The lady i got him from said to feed him the premade bagged romaine lettuce.

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Kent, South East England
Hello and welcome to TFO

The short answer is that you develop a healthy diet for you and your family too.

Your tort’s diet is a variety weedy & leafy greens. Lettuce contains few nutrients and little fibre and shouldn’t be the main part of the diet.

Your tort can’t digest sugars properly - they cause digestive and kidney problems - so fruit, bell pepper, carrot and tomato should only be fed very sparingly and very occasionally if at all.

Feed a mound of food roughly the size of your tort’s shell first thing in the morning. If it all gets eaten then feed more at the next feed. If not, then leave it for 24 hours and replace with a smaller amount of fresh. Your tort won’t care if it goes limp.

Write a list of things that grow around you and those that you can buy and look them up on The Tortoise Table Plant Database for suitability to feed.
http://www.thetortoisetable.org.uk/

If you can’t identify plants then post photos on the Plant ID section of this forum and someone will help you.

I am guessing that the guidance you have been given on this tort’s care isn’t the best.

I recommend you read the TFO care guides. They're written by species experts working hard to correct the outdated information widely available on the internet and from pet stores and, sadly, from some breeders and vets too.

Beginner Mistakes
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/beginner-mistakes.45180/

Russian Tortoise Care
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/russian-tortoise-care-sheet.80698/

We will be happy to look over photos of your enclosure and lighting and make recommendations

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Kent, South East England
Here's a list of suitable greens