just bought a baby Sulcata Tortoise

Status
Not open for further replies.

XXAPAINKILLERXX

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Wilmington CA
Just bought a baby Sulcata Tortoise! :)

i just bought one.. went to the store and loved it.. named him Donny (TMNT) :p made him a cool home.. felt bad that he was lonely so i bought another baby! now they buddies :) havnt named the 2nd one.. any ideas for names?

XXAPAINKILLERXX

5 Year Member
Wilmington CA
Named him Donny..made a cool home for him got he light and everything i need.. i felt like he seem lonely so a bought another one :) havnt named the 2nd yet.. any ideas for names? im thinking Turbo or Squirtle.. they are eating a lot is that normal? i cut off the bottom of plastic cups to make lil dishes i put greens etc. on top and one eats the whole lil plate.. and i clean then refill the plates cause both eat.. should i keep refilling or fill once per day? im new to TFO.. love these dudes![/font]

Attachments

• 541486_320798191308784_100001358161471_822589_1944571193_n.jpg
    541486_320798191308784_100001358161471_822589_1944571193_n.jpg
    50 KB · Views: 125

Laura

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Foothills above Sacramento CA
RE: Just bought a baby Sulcata Tortoise! :)

i hope you have a big yard!
start reading about thier care and needs. Whatever the petstore told you might not be right.

Laura

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Foothills above Sacramento CA
well. from what I see,, you need a better diet and some moisture... the little one you have is alredy starting to pyramid..which usually means it was kept too dry.
Read the Sulcata section... read up on diets.. and enclosures..
I would run to walmart and buy the biggest plastic tote you can find and switch to that.. and I would also give your little guys a good warm water soaking.
as for diet.. go buy some Spring Mix at the store.. dark leafy greens.. not iceberg or romaine..
And.. WELCOME to our family!!

StudentoftheReptile

5 Year Member
Alabama