Is this an acceptable enclosure?

cgraziano

I have been thinking about getting a tortoise for about 6 months now and I decided to finally start putting the habitat together. I know that tables are the best, but I'm not very good with tools. Would this be an acceptable enclosure? I know I'm going to have to block off the walls so it can't see out, but other than that I don't see much wrong with it, or maybe that's just my untrained eye. Thanks for the help

http://www.petsmart.com/small-pet/s...ngs-easy-access-guinea-pig-habitat-35967.html

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Kent, South East England
Hello and welcome to TFO. The short answer is - No.

The longer answer is:

It is too small for a Russian. Unless you're getting a hatchling you need a minimum floor area of 4'x8'

The wire sides are useless for holding in heat and humidity

The wire restricts the hanging of lamps. The temperature under a basking lamp is adjusted by raising it or lowering it and the temperature directly underneath that lamp is very important to the health of your tortoise.

Please read the following so you understand what a Russian actually needs:

Beginner Mistakes
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/beginner-mistakes.45180/

Russian Tortoise Care
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/russian-tortoise-care-sheet.80698/

And if you are thinking of getting a baby read this
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/thread...or-other-herbivorous-tortoise-species.107734/

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Hello and Welcome. I agree with all the above. Also a table is not the best enclosure. Usually they have too short of sides, open top and unless you build your own, they are too small and too pricy for their bad construction for a proper tortoise home.

Mr Buster

Reno NV