Hybrid, Leopcata?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Q'sTortie

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Tampa, Florida
I saw this ad and I was wondering if it was even real. It must be since they are selling it but are there any side effects? Can this even happen in the wild? People have crossed a zebra with a horse and we cross certain dog breeds and call it designer dogs. Will this be a new trend for designer tortoise?? This is my first time seeing a live hybrid tortoise, its really beautiful and it is really puzzling me for some reason. Does anyone here have any "hybrid" tortoises?

http://market.kingsnake.com/detail.php?cat=50&de=951140

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
RE: Hybrid?

Someone just post a thread yesterday about this. Yes it's possible. Yes it's real. Not sure if it could be done with all species. Others will have more.

tortadise

10 Year Member!
Tropical South Texas

Jd (N2TORTS) has some leaprucatas, they look pretty neat and show similarities of both species. Im not big on hybrids that have been bred of intention for a buck. But they are interesting to see the different growth of the two species. leopards and sulcatas could possibly cross in the wild if presented numerous times. It takes alot of work I would imagine. I would think the chances in the wild would be slim. Females will retain sperm from males for up to 4 years as well from many other males, so chances of being a total "pure" hyrbid in the wild would be very slim but could possibly have some DNA differences.

shellysmom

10 Year Member!

I think someone here posted this link yesterday, too. I don't like the fact that some random person can get 2 different tortoise species to mate and then suddenly have something worth $2000. That doesn't sit well with me at all. I mean, it's a beautiful tortoise, no doubt, but still...

Q'sTortie

5 Year Member
Tampa, Florida