Hi all.

Hi guys,

We am new to this all.
Me and my good lady are looking at getting a Hermann tortoise soon, I'm planning on building the table myself and are looking for any hints and tips, what size, material etc.

Also any advice to new tortoise owners?

Many thanks all.

D&E

Rue

Location (City and/or State)
Canada
Howdy! I am rather new to tortoises too. I have had my Hermann's since February. I opted for the cypress mulch and I am quite happy with it. It holds moisture well, is easy to clean/keep clean and looks nice.

My Hermann's buries in it without issue although I thought it looked a little uncomfortable for her.

In her outside enclosure I mixed cypress mulch with peat. Also a nice mix and easier for her to dig in...but messier. So I think I will stick with the cypress mulch for indoors. Outside it doesn't matter to me.

GingerLove

5 Year Member
Welcome! Cypress mulch sounds good, and coconut coir is also a good option. (Also known as coconut husk). From the description above, it sounds about the same as cypress mulch.

GingerLove

5 Year Member
I would definitely not recommend the play sand. It gives them eye problems when they try to dig, and if they eat the sand (mine eats dirt), then it can cause and impacted gut problem. :( I'd stick with some kind of dirt.
How's the table building going?

Rue

Canada
I agree with GingerLove. Although some people do use sand...it is not recommended. The other options are less problematic and retain humidity better.

Ahhh ok, that's sound not good, I was recommended ProRep Tortoise Life Substrate, so shall I stay away from that?

Build is planned and materials are brought just need a day off to do it now :)

I have laminate flooring for the edges, and bottom, I'm then going to seal all the edges and gaps. Pop in a boxed off "quiet" area. A heat/uv lamp to go over the top and some plant pots an bits to go in it.

Rue

Canada