Help with new Hermanns tortoise

Status
Not open for further replies.

andy h

5 Year Member
hi every one i have just brougt a 5 mounth old hermann and i need your help guys as i am new to tortoise keeping i am from the uk and need some good advise with my
baby herman
i am using a 60 watt bulb for the basking lamp and the bulb was 6 inchs from substrate
and the temp is 95 degrees around the bulb area and the temp in the center of my tortoise table was 80 degrees
so i changed the hight of the bulb lenth to substrate is now 12 inches and now the center heat is 72 degrees and around 80 near bulb

i am not happy with this and i am going to buy a 100watt bulb and a new basking lamp with a stand so i an get better heat temp and get the bulb at a safer hight not sure on the best basking lamp and also i am going to turn my basking on at 7 am and going to turn it off at 7 pm
please tell me the thing i am doing wrong thanks

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi Andy:

I don't know anything about the Hermann's tortoises, but we DO have a nice care sheet here on the forum:

http://tortoiseforum.org/thread-1000.html

I just wanted to...

242415c4ffciplyl.gif

you to the forum!!

egyptiandan

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
USA
I'm glad your getting a new basking bulb. :) What kind of bulb were you looking to get? Probably the best one to get would be a mercury vapor bulb (MVB). These bulbs produce heat as well as UVB which will help your tortoise produce most of the vitamin D that it will need to grow healthy bones.
A temperature of around 95F under the basking lamp is what you should be looking to do.
Are you using a calcium supplement?

Danny

Ozric

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member