Hello from the frozen Midwest!

Archelon

Location (City and/or State)
Upper Midwest
Hello everyone!

I'm a long time exotic pet enthusiast, wth plenty of experience keeping other reptiles, although I've been relegated to dogs for quite some time. I haven't had a tortoise in many years, my last being a box turtle many years ago.

Now I'm a father with young kids who have been begging for a turtle since they caught a painted turtle hatchling while fishing last summer. We jumped back in after I did extensive research- we are taking delivery of one yellow and one red footed tortoise hatchling tomorrow for my 8 year old daughter and 10 year old son to keep, care for and raise with my help.

We ordered from "The Turtle Source" in Ft Myers, FL and are hoping we made the right choice. :eek:

No pics as yet but I will rectify that soon. I've been moderating 23 subforums on a very busy hobby forum for several years and have a paid Photobucket account so I'm familiar with forum life. I just read the moderator Yvonne's notes on photo uploading- direct hosting on the site will be a major plus as I'm used to having to use a third party hosting service.:rolleyes:

We have a decent starter enclosure on the way from the DrsFoster&Smith site to get our hatchlings started and I will be looking for help with choosing and sourcing other equipment like UV lighting, heater, substrate, diet, supplements, etc. I will jump in tomorrow or over the weekend and start a thread in the red foot forum introducing myself and post questions. I look forward to sharing our experience and learning from the good folks here with much more knowledge and experience than I.

Here's the starter habitat we chose. Hope the new additions will thrive in it.:tort:

http://www.drsfostersmith.com/produ...mpid=07csegb&gclid=CNy4nI75h8oCFVglgQods7kPnA

Please, feel free to share any advice and opinions!

Regards-

Archelon

leigti

5 Year Member
southeast Washington