hello from scotland !

NB98x

Location (City and/or State)
Scotland
IMG_3027.JPG IMG_3031.JPG
hello fellow tort owners , i am new to the tortoise forum & just thought i would introduce myself and my tortoise :pmy name is natasha i am 19yrs old born & living in scotland . i am the owner of a horsfield tortoise called daisy whos 3yrs old & loves baths , dandelion flowers/leaves , bananas , sleeping & hiding . :tort: she hates eating out of her dish so i have to put all her food on the floor of her tort table for her to eat it lol . i have had daisy since she was 6 months old & plan on having her for many happy years :D any tips on what other wild plants/flowers i can find here in scotland to feed daisy ? thanks :):<3:

Last edited:

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Kent, South East England
Hello and welcome to TFO from Kent UK

I recommend you read the TFO care guides if you haven't already

They're written by species experts working hard to correct the outdated information widely available on the internet and from pet stores and, sadly, from some breeders and vets too.

Beginner Mistakes
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/beginner-mistakes.45180/

Russian (aka Horsfield) Tortoise Care
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/russian-tortoise-care-sheet.80698/

Plants are harder to track down as winter sets in and few of us manage without a good quality pellet feed (softened in water) as a supplement. I use Komodo which is widely available. Mazuri is not so easy to source but can be bought here
http://www.shelledwarriorsshop.co.uk/

I recommend that you write a list of the plants that grow around you and those that you can buy and look them up on The Tortoise Table Plant Database for suitability to feed. The website is here:
http://www.thetortoisetable.org.uk/

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Kent, South East England
The best "dish" for your tort is, in fact, a piece of flat rock, slate or even the rough back of a wall tile.