Car stuff-AC

smarch

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Massachusetts
So I come here before I go and randomly hit up the internet since people here give sound tortoise advice I assume people who will reply know what they're talking about and if I trust you with 'Nank, I trust you with car advice.

I have a 2004 Subaru legacy, the AC was ineffective for years, but this year it crapped out only blowing warm air. I had a check-up/recharge done in june, yay cold air again, but the problem was, like i'd assumed, a small hole in the compressor. I was given the choice to fix it, but in my logic the $500 required could be saved for a more necessary fix given the age of my car. I mean i'm a college student to graduate in a year, i'm going to have loans. I plan to essentially run my car to the ground so I do hope to have many more years with it. 2 months later my AC is warming up again so i'm guessing the Freon is running out again.
I obviously know I can't just magically patch the hole myself, so I wonder if any of you have ever done your own recharges? My dad has a lot more car knowledge than me... but he keeps saying he'll look into it but nothing ever happens, so I guess I'm taking matters into my own hands. I'm probably not going to do anything now, since its the end of summer and once august dies down i'll be fine with the windows and moon-roof.

I guess i'm looking for opinions on getting it fixed (i'm torn still) and info on recharging and freons.

mikeh

5 Year Member
Save the money for other repairs as they are coming. Timing belt HAS to be changed at around 105K miles, if it hasn't yet. Costly job but Not changing it will result in a catastrophic internal engine damage if the belt breaks.

Winter is coming, how are the tires?
Go thru the service records and check when the following service was performed; Brakes, battery, engine coolant flush, spark plugs, differentials, wheel alignment.