Car ride with tortoise???

Status
Not open for further replies.

sulcata101

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Sebastopol
I was wondering if a car ride would stress our my tortoise. I'm at my dads house about 4 days out of the week, which is where Cheerio my tortoise stays most of the time, but when I go to my moms which is about a twenty minute drive, I sometimes want to bring Cheerio with me. I've done it at least five times back and forth, but I'm keeping him more at my dads because he might stress, and of the big yard. He doesn't seem to get that stressed, or at least from my point of view, but sometimes he does poop. I was also wondering if he would just get use to it?

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
I have no personal experience with my own torts in a car except when I picked up my Russian. I was also a Box turtle taxi a couple times. Four hour ride and they seemed just fine. As for the pooping, I hear around the forum, that is an automatic thing when a tortoise takes a car ride. I personally wouldn't worry about it. There are members that take their tortoises to lots of places to educate people on tortoise care, etc.

sulcata101

5 Year Member
Sebastopol
Awesome, thanks :) I also had another question, I wondering if I can take Cheerio camping.

Jd3

5 Year Member
sulcata101 said:
Awesome, thanks :) I also had another question, I wondering if I can take Cheerio camping.

I wouldn't. Way too many variables. Recipe for disaster.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA