Calcium supplement

Laura1412

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Mansfield Nottinghamshire United kingdom
good afternoon hope everyone is well
I am wanting to no if this calcium supplement I have been advised to get is good or not I have been speaking to the Arcadia product manager John about there basking bulbs and he got on about this calcium supplement which he says is very good and am just wanting advise from you guys before I bought it for my clyde thanks

Attachments

• IMG_0819.PNG
    IMG_0819.PNG
    466 KB · Views: 24

Grandpa Turtle 144

5 Year Member
I'm sorry I've been raising torts for 17 years . The only calcium I give my torts is ground egg shells : I dry the egg shells for 24-48 hours then I run them through a coffee grinder to get them in a powder to put on their food .

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
I am wanting to no if this calcium supplement I have been advised to get is good or not I have been speaking to the Arcadia product manager John about there basking bulbs and he got on about this calcium supplement which he says is very good and am just wanting advise from you guys before I bought it for my clyde thanks

It says "One part magnesium". This is confusing and its followed by some seemingly scientific jargon that is meant to dazzle an ignorant potential customer.

One part Mg to what? How many other parts and of what? It says its pure calcium, which would actually be toxic and dangerous, and then it says there is one part Mg., so its not "pure" Ca. No supplement is pure calcium and its not pure anyway if it has another element present. Most supplements are made of calcium carbonate. This is generally known to be safe, effective and has been tested for decades.