Status
Not open for further replies.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
Lately is has been suggested that high humidity, moisture and hydration is a "band-aid" for some other husbandry problem. Similarly, it has been suggested the very high moisture levels are "balancing" out some other husbandry deficiency. I strongly disagree, based on decades of personal observation with several species, conversations with top pros, and the experiences of many people right here on the forum. I would like the proponents of these theories to tell me where and what the deficiency is in my husbandry.

The following describes my general husbandry practices for the last two decades. Please let me know where improvement is needed. Since the 80's I've been keeping Ctenosaurs, Cyclura, Green Iguanas and of course tortoises, so I've been a student of herbivorous diets for a long time. My torts have always had a varied diet based on a variety leafy greens from the grocery store, weeds, grass and home grown foods like cactus, hibiscus, mulberry and roses. Most of them were fed "a big pile daily" with the exception of my current adult sulcatas who were fed lightly and had many days skipped. They are now 43 and 48 pounds for my 12 year old males and 33 pounds for my 10 year old female. All my other torts were a more "normal" size for their age. They've all always had large outdoor pens for sunshine, exercise and natural grazing here in the CA sunshine and they are in their outdoor pens almost daily year round. I sometimes have to skip a week or two in the winter due to cold weather and rain. They've all had large indoor enclosures with UV lighting. I used to use the "reptile" tubes, but switched to MVBs when they hit the scene, 10 years ago. I've always used Rep-cal around twice a week and periodically offered cuttle bones, even though they are mostly ignored by my torts. Some had water bowls, some didn't. I usually soa