Hello from Kansas City!

RockChalk

Location (City and/or State)
Kansas City
I'm new to the tortoise owner world, but I worked at a very fantastic local pet store when I was in college that has all sorts of torts and turtles. I've been reading all of the info I can get my hands on about Hermann's torts. I have been preparing to buy one and I have the habitat almost finished.

I'm planning on getting my first one at the KC Reptile Show this weekend in Overland Park, KS. I'm particularly interested in the "Dalmatian" variety but I'll have to see what is there.

Anyway, hello!

RockChalk

Kansas City
Yes I have, but thank you!

The only thing left for me to figure out is which substrate to use if I get a very small tortoise that is younger than a year old. Ah, the age-old debate, I imagine.

I've read that people are concerned about coconut coir being dusty, but being in the African Violet hobby I have it on hand already and I know that it should be rinsed profusely before use vs just simply wetting it, so all of my coir is rinsed through a sieve. I don't get the kind of coir that has a lot of long fibers - it's more like soil.

Again, being an African Violet hobbyist, I also have a ton of peat (not to be confused with peat moss --- peat itself is soft, dark brown, and dirt-like, not stringy like peat moss). I could mix the two. Thoughts?

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
A Land Far Away...
*waves* Hi! Your almost a neighbor. I live in the southeast corner of Nebraska. You may not have much to choose from at the show. :(

RockChalk

Kansas City
I really have my heart set on getting a young Hermann's on Sunday. I guess I might have to order one. :( But the tort table is finished, at least.

Lyn W

5 Year Member
UK
Welcome. Great that you have been researching before you buy and have your table ready. Do you have all the lamps/heat ready with temps/humidity tried and tested too? That will all help your tort quickly.