What kind of tortoise is living in my yard?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mewr428

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Florida
Hi everyone,
My name is Shelby. I have a new "pet" tortoise. He/She popped up in my backyard a little over a week ago and hasnt left. He/She likes to dig holes in my mulch. I thought mabe it was a gopher but it doesnt look like the pictures on google. Can anyone tell me what kind of tortoise this is? Also, what does he/she eat? I put some broccoli and carrots out in the yard and a bowel of water. I went to the petstore and got some tortoise food but I dont know if I should be feeding him/her. Any ideas? My backyard is fenced in, so Im guessing he dug a hole under my fence. I will attach a picture of him/her.
dfzgh0.jpg
dfzgh0.jpg
[/img]

Tim/Robin

10 Year Member!
I am no turtle expert, but you don't have a tortoise. It is some kind of turtle.

Mewr428

5 Year Member
Florida
Oh okay, My friend told me it was a tortoise. At least I know its a turtle now. Thank you!

african cake queen

5 Year Member
ct.usa
HI, ITS A SLIDER OF SOME SORT. MAYBE A YELLOW BELLIE? SOMEONE WILL BE AROUND TO SAY FOR SURE, BUT IT LOOKS LIKE A SLIDER. LINDY

pdrobber

10 Year Member!
It looks like a slider, an aquatic turtle. Where do you live? Does one of your neighbors have a pond? It needs a mostly aquatic freshwater environment.

Mewr428

5 Year Member
Florida
Okay, thank you for the information. You guys are fast at replying!

dmarcus

5 Year Member
Las Vegas, NV
Welcome to the forum, and it does look like a slider and like everyone before me I cant say what type. I would definitly see if any of your neighbors has a pond and is missing a turtle.

Mewr428

5 Year Member
Florida