What kind of Tort is this???

Status
Not open for further replies.

MildredsMommy

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
San Antonio, Texas
turt 1.JPGturt 2.jpgI thought Sulcata but wasnt sure-and nobody in that forum has answered me yet...anyone have any idea of what kind of tortoise this is?? Thanks everyone!!!!

Last edited by a moderator:

Moozillion

10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Louisiana, USA
I'm no expert, but I think it looks kind if like a sulcata. :p At least I can give your thread a bump! :)

MildredsMommy

5 Year Member
San Antonio, Texas
Moozilion said:
I'm no expert, but I think it looks kind if like a sulcata. :p At least I can give your thread a bump! :)

Thank you :) a very nice woman from Craigslist here found him walking in front of her daughter's school this A.M. and I am picking him up after work-thought it might help to know what I am up against! lol

tortadise

10 Year Member!
Tropical South Texas
Yeah that's a Texas alright. Especially knowing your area. The males get very large gular scutes(battering rams) can we see a pic of its underside and of the top. Texas torts will kinda get wider at the hind legs. They are an oblong square. (Best as I could describe)

MildredsMommy

5 Year Member
San Antonio, Texas
turtle belly.jpgTortoise shell.jpg
tortadise said:
Yeah that's a Texas alright. Especially knowing your area. The males get very large gular scutes(battering rams) can we see a pic of its underside and of the top. Texas torts will kinda get wider at the hind legs. They are an oblong square. (Best as I could describe)

Hi Kelly! Nice to hear from ya again! Here are the other pics she sent and it seems he has what appears to be an old shell injury. Is it legal to keep one here in Texas???

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA