Wet eyes/Eyes staying shut more

Status
Not open for further replies.

Keeblercop

5 Year Member
Hi, I'm hoping someone can give me some advice. I have an EBT that has lived here in my outdoor enclosure for about 3 weeks. She has been very active and one of my best eaters since she arrived. The last 2 days, I noticed she was slowing down in her activity...figured just settling in.

It seems the past 2 days that she is sleeping more. I've picked her up a couple of times to check her and her eyes are closed up...forgive me, I'm new to this...they are closed but it's looks like an inner lid and is light colored. After she's handled, she will open them but it seems a little slower than normal. Once they are open, they look clear but wet.

Yesterday, they just looked watery or wet. She ate but wasn't as active as normal.

Today, it seems that I saw some watery stuff run out too, but I'm not sure. They also do not seem to be as open as normal. She has laid around large parts of the day and is def. not as active.

I do not hear wheezing as I've been checking; I do not notice her mouth being open or gasping; I do not see anything wet or different about her nose/nostrils.

I've been scrolling the forum for about an hour and cannot find anything identical...it seems it's with tortoises or includes wheezing symptoms, so I thought I'd post for help. It seems that this is abnormal for her. Is this the beginning of a respiratory problem or another issue/virus/disease? Is there something I can do now to help her? At what point should I separate her from others? At what point should I seek a vet?

Thanks in advance for any and all advice.

Keeblercop

5 Year Member