Turtleyard Introduce Yourself

Jcubed

Location (City and/or State)
Southeast New Mexico
Joined tortoiseforum today. Our family enjoys our wild born box turtles that live in our backyard. We provide food, water and shelter for 7 adult ornate box turtles and ended this summer with 5 babies. They provide us (especially me) with endless wonder and joy. I am not an expert, just a lover and admirer of these amazing creatures. The adults were relocated to our yard from my grandmother in law's yard who passed away. The family didn't want to see the turtles neglected so all who were found were rehomed. We had 3 others, but they dug out and ran away which made me very sad. Our yard has since been reinforced and no one should be making any unexpected escapes. We are on our 4th year with them. Most of my friends and family think I've become a "crazy turtle lady", but that's ok with me. My husband and two sons also enjoy the turtles, but it is me who spends WAY too much time in the back yard during the warm months feeding, watering, soaking, talking to, hunting for and taking pictures of our little turtle family. Ornate box turtles are native to our region of Southeast New Mexico. I am currently missing their activity as they have buried in for the cold months. We also have 2 cats and a dog who all get along wonderfully with the turtles. So, that's me--thanks for having me. I also enjoy posting pictures on Instagram @turtleyard

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Hello and Welcome. I can't believe you said you take lots of pics of them and you didn't post not one. How date you LOL. We will let you slide this time.
Also, I want to let you know, that dogs and turtles/tortoises do not mix. The turtles, more often then not become a chew toy. Just want you to know this, as we have seen too many threads about a chewed turtle/tort from those who thought their dog would never bother the shelled member.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!