Tortoise type help

Tvansant

Location (City and/or State)
Maryland, USA
Hi,
I'm wondering what type of tortoise I have here ? From the Maryland area of the US.
Any help would be great since I'm new to this.

Thanks so much
Tracy

A73F06F5-F46A-4E7B-AC21-0A8C2189132C.JPG

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
You don't have a tortoise there. Its a turtle.

Tvansant

Maryland, USA
Oh really ? That's weird !! Could be a pet and someone else found it then put it in the mail ?

daniellenc

Maryland
I have no clue and google is not all knowing but says no three toeds here. On his back legs how many toes does he have?

daniellenc

Maryland
Soaks stimulate appetite. I always soak then feed at night. Mornings he gets misted and food but I have a red foot tortoise so different care.

Tvansant

Maryland, USA
I have no clue and google is not all knowing but says no three toeds here. On his back legs how many toes does he have?
So I was trying to take a picture and his back feet are different I noticed. It's like he has a club foot ? I think the one foot has 4 toes ? The other has some underdeveloped toes ? He just got in the water again
Soaks stimulate appetite. I always soak then feed at night. Mornings he gets misted and food but I have a red foot tortoise so different care.
i fed him too. Pellets and sweet potato and grated carrots

IMG_0571.JPG IMG_0572.JPG IMG_0574.JPG IMG_0576.JPG

daniellenc

Maryland
Looks like three toes but bury the water dish now it a tipping hazard. Shells mean they can't bend and s/he could fall in. If you can bury it level to the ground I'd be perfect.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi:

You have a baby box turtle, and it's probably an eastern (Terrapene carolina carolina), and more than likely a protected species (I'm not sure about this, just a guess, because I don't know Maryland's regs on turtles).