Species/ shell question

jazminevance

Location (City and/or State)
OHIO
Hi all!
This is my first post on here! I'm trying to figure out what kind of box turtle I have. I inherited her from my aunt. Also, her shell seems to be a bit dry. Is there anything I can do to help her? Im new at this, I need all the advice I can get!

83A04985-A980-43B4-806E-B5F6562B665A.jpegimage.jpg

Maggie3fan

5 Year Member
PacificNorthWest
Well...It looks like a 3-toed (T.c.triunguis) to me. They are semi-aquatic and enjoy being in water...I use a frisbee or a paint roller pan for them. The beak is too long, needs trim, ...They like fruit, protein( worms, slugs, and other gookie stuff.)nAnd they seriously like being outside with a water pool....

jazminevance

OHIO
Well...It looks like a 3-toed (T.c.triunguis) to me. They are semi-aquatic and enjoy being in water...I use a frisbee or a paint roller pan for them. The beak is too long, needs trim, ...They like fruit, protein( worms, slugs, and other gookie stuff.)nAnd they seriously like being outside with a water pool....
Thank you!! What is the safest way to trim?

PJay

5 Year Member
Virginia
Welcome to the forum! I agree with Maggie, you have a three toed box turtle. The beak is a little long but not terrible. You can use a dremel high speed tool to trim a little at a time. Another option that might work well with that particular beak shape is to offer food on an abrasive surface like the backside of a ceramic tile. As it eats, the long part of the beak will rub across the rough surface.

Maggie3fan

5 Year Member
PacificNorthWest