This doesnt look okay

Blackdog1714

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Richmond, VA
Is that a sulcata and how old did they say it was? Cause that is from the eggs and is almost completely healed. Good breeders make sure it is healed before selling

Zoeclare

Uk
How long have you had the tort? I'm no expert but the tortoise looks quite big to still have an open yolk scar?

Zoeclare

Uk
I'm not really sure what it could be, sometimes the yolk scar can heal a bit wrinkly if the baby was started dry but I'm not sure what the black bit is. Do you soak the tort daily? What substrate is he on?

Tortoiseguy804

Today is my birthday!
South chesterfield Virginia
I'm not really sure what it could be, sometimes the yolk scar can heal a bit wrinkly if the baby was started dry but I'm not sure what the black bit is. Do you soak the tort daily? What substrate is he on?
His substrate is organic soil and cypress mulch and i soak him every couple days because I have work im trying to do it more often tho

Zoeclare

Uk
Weird question but is there any odour from the area on the tortoise? I'm just wondering if there could be infection, I'm also going to tag @Tom because I'm just guessing and he has tons of experience! I don't want to give you bad advice.

Tortoiseguy804

Today is my birthday!
Weird question but is there any odour from the area on the tortoise? I'm just wondering if there could be infection, I'm also going to tag @Tom because I'm just guessing and he has tons of experience! I don't want to give you bad advice.
No there's no smell from the area but it looks really crusty in there

Zoeclare

Uk
Yes I see what you mean I zoomed in on the picture, could be some substrate in there maybe but I'm just not confident to say what to do. I would just keep soaking daily and hopefully someone with more experience will have better advice. Sorry I couldn't be more help for your little guy!

Tortoiseguy804

Today is my birthday!

Tortoiseguy804

Today is my birthday!