Not open for further replies.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
I'd actually love to have anyone's input on this one. The people had this sulcata since it was about the size of a hand, so I figure maybe 2 years old. They got him in '06, making him about 8 years old. He has always lived in the backyard along with 4 dogs. Two weeks ago one of the dogs, a Pomeranian, died of some sort of blood disease. The dog was about 8 years old. The blood wouldn't clot. Then yesterday another one of the dogs was taken to the emergency vet because the gums were bleeding. They did labs and came up with pretty much the same thing that was wrong with the pom. The vet thought maybe, because the dogs eat the tortoise poop, they contracted something from the tortoise.

I've been messing with turtles and tortoises for about 35 years and I've heard of tortoises dying from dogs, but never dogs dying from tortoises. Anybody?

02-12-12Rescue3-a.jpg

02-12-12Rescue3-b.jpg

Everyone, meet Big Boy!

Katherine

5 Year Member
Handsome new tortoise! Lucky for him that his owners found you. I'm racking my brain for contagious canine diseases which would cause a coagulation deficit but coming up short. If the dogs were related it may make more sense... It is possible they both ingested a poison from a common area; rat poison can cause clotting problems to the point of fatality....as can some snake venoms. I am not sure offhand of anything contagious even from one dog to another that would cause clotting problems, nevermind from the tortoise. Aside from some parasites I am not aware of any disease transmissible to dogs from a tortoise. For whatever it's worth I have three healthy dogs who have all at points in their life made a meal of tortoise droppings...gross yes but not deadly in my experience. Sounds to me like they needed a scapegoat and your pretty new tort was the easiest to blame...

bubbles01

5 Year Member