Sulcata in Nebraska, free range in my house

Status
Not open for further replies.

Smiles

Hello,

I am new to the tortoise ownership world, I acquired a sulcata about 3 months ago, pretty sure it is a girl, and the vet says she seems healthy. we think she is about 5-6 years old. But I would like opinions.

I live in Omaha, NE it gets cold, so she has to live in the house 1/3-1/2 of the year. because of how big she is going to get, we decided to just let her have free range of our living room and kitchen. I feed her a lot of greens, she won't eat hay. I have a UVB light and a heat lamp set up next to her food and kennel. We take her outside as often as possible. And she is soaked for 30 minutes twice a week, and as water available always but doesn't seem to drink it.

It has begun to get very cold out so she can't go outside, she is becoming less active and interactive but is eating well, urinating and defecating

so I have two questions:
1. Anyone have a reason why free range would actually be bad for her.
2. Do you think there is something wrong with her or is it because she is getting too cold?

thank you for your opinions.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Hello and Welcome. Free range is dangerous for the tort. Could eat something that will make her sick, get stepped on, and too cold on the floor. The coldest place in a room is the floor. Heat rises and if you got a temp gun, you would see how much colder it is on the floor. They need a proper enclosure they can feel and be safe in. We have seen it before on here the things that happen when torts are left to roam a house. Besides the fact it's not natural for them to walk on carpets or wood/tile/etc floors and the slippery flooring is not good for the growth of their legs and bones.

Smiles