Small testudo marginata - question

vniveri25

Location (City and/or State)
Świnoujście
Hi guys!
I wanted to get greek iberian turtle, they sold me "Greek" one but at home i realized that this is testudo marginata. Well i like this small guy but what worried me most that marginata doesn't really live so log as far as i found some information online - they live like average 20 years - we really wanted long living animal, and that made us a litte bit worried, does they really live just those 20 years? What are you experiences? Here is a picture of my baby turtle - well, i'm still learning to optimize his enviorment, i was a little bit more prepered for greek one, and there are some differences also information online are sometimes a little bit different - they say he doenst really like high humidity, others sources says humidity should be like 80% - so well... also some sources says to bath him every other day, other's says different things, so i'm a little bit lost also temperatures are different in a lot of sources. If you have any good site/book with correct values i would love to obtain it.
testuso.jpg

TammyJ

5 Year Member
Jamaica
Hi and welcome! Pretty little tortoise. An expert or two will be along to help shortly. You have arrived at the right place for the best possible help! Right now, please don't give him food in those small chunks that can choke him - deaths have happened in this way. Grater the food or give him large pieces so he can bite off his manageable pieces. Thank you for coming here! @zovick @Tom

vniveri25

Świnoujście
Thank you for explaining it in such a nice way :). Those chunks, they told me in animal shop that this is the best for him right now and i bought them, but i ordered online real subsoil for small turtles that is right for them and i'm going to replace it and also give him some possibilities to dig. Thank you for your answer!

vniveri25

Świnoujście