sick russian

Status
Not open for further replies.

chase thorn

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Colorado Springs, CO
hello, I am new to the forum and i knew this would be the appropriate place to ask. i for lack of better word, "rescued" a poor male russian tort from a very bad pet store today. One of the employes told me they have been feeding the tortoises Crickets and Frozen broccoli. i knew that was a horrible diet for a russian. his nose is clear and he is breathing fine, his eyes are clear and his nose is clear as well. his beak seems perfect. He has no shell deformities. i have just noticed as i put him in his bin that his feces are very liquidly and is a very light tan color. i am not sure if that is from his diet of if that can be another reason. he seems ok weight wise on the fact of his size, almost a little heavy. i am new to owning a russian tortoise but i have two adult sulcata tortoises, so i have a general knowledge of care towards them.

i am just wondering what i can do to keep him as healthy as possible and to make him better :( he is very active and is a very fast little dude! i am planning on taking him to the vet soon to get him tested. any information would be very helpful.

thank you

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA
That sounds like a diet related problem (his stools), what do you plan on feeding him?
I feed mine a variety of flowers and leaves from various plants.

lynnedit

10 Year Member!
Southwest Washington
If he is active and his eyes and nose are clear, he may be healthier (somehow) than you think. Their stool can change with diet as you probably know, and his diet was weird.
Soak him daily for a few days, they get so darn dehydrated in the pet stores. Start giving him weeds/flowers/spring mix, etc., and take him to the vet for a fecal test as you have planned. Make sure he has access to a cuttlebone and either sun or a UVB bulb to bask.
You sound like you know what you are doing!