Share experiment results

JanelP

Location (City and/or State)
Idaho
Ok, First off, I'm just going to say be nice. This I am hoping is going to be an on going thread on a journey of dealing with my female leopard who was born with a disfigured shell. I adopted her knowing as such, and not knowing why. I'm hoping maybe the info it will help other tortoises. Follow along if you like, or ignore I'd just like to record what happens. I have appreciated a bunch of info I have gotten here, and knowing she was not raise in ideal conditions to start with, I have corrected this to the best of my abilities. I now try to comply to Toms methods as close as possibly to prevent further pyramiding and problems with babies. I am still learning, and will always be open to discussion and ideas and constructive critisism.
All this being said, I do have 21 years vet tech background and am working with my vet some. This experiment is to help try to correct her already bad shell, with proper husbandry I have gotten here, to see what the outcome will be over the years, once I move her outside, in the Idaho summers where the humidity rarely gets over 35-40%. So far I have seen such amazing results in just 4 weeks, that I'm hoping once they are older, and outside, that it will help keep the nice smooth shells.

Ok, So here's what I do. I changed to follow Toms guidelines as far as humidity and raising the best I can. I admit they are not in 100 percent close chamber but I am working on it. I use a lot of artificial greenery, mist the cage, and plastic wrap and keep the temps and humidity at his numbers all day. Can't be done open top? Can, but takes a lot of work time and energy.