Santa needs help asap!

TortMama88

My daughter asked Santa to bring to hatchling tortoises for Christmas. Santa was able to get two sulcatas. They are quite small. Both can fit in my hand. One seems to be very sluggish and not eating very well. I have not seen him eat in about 2 days. He seems to lay his head on the sand a lot and not move very much. I so Kim in water and there is a daytime lamp and a nighttime black heating lamp in the enclosure. There is also a little cave type thing for them to hide in. I'm pretty new at this and could use some advice please. Thank you for your help. Hohoho!

TortMama88

My daughter asked Santa to bring to hatchling tortoises for Christmas. Santa was able to get to the cottage. They are quite small. Both consent in my hand. One seems to be very sluggish and not eating very well. I have not seen him eat in about 2 days. He seems to lay his head on the sand a lot and not move very much. I so Kim in water and there is a daytime lamp and a nighttime black heating lamp in the enclosure. There is also a little cave type thing for them to hide in. I'm pretty new at this and could use some advice please. Thank you for your help. Hohoho!

Also it is not a sand only substrate. It is a coconut coir and sand mixture

otisthetortoise

5 Year Member
Hi, I'm a newbie and no expert (especially on sulcatas), but I'll offer you some basic advice that I hope will help - but first, what time did you get the tortoises? It can take time for a tortoise to settle into a new home, and this may prevent eating or activity. But if it has been over a few days or a week since, you may have the wrong needs for the tortoise. How are the humidity levels and what are you feeding the sulcata? Their enclosure also needs to be big enough - the bigger the better - so they can roam freely. Are you keeping them in a table or viv?