Russian won't eat

Status
Not open for further replies.

Raymo2477

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Eastern, PA, USA
I work at a large chain pet store. Back in December we sold an imported Russian to a customer. The tortoise has supposedly never eaten since December. The tortoise has been to the vet twice and dewormed/departs sited once. The vet has no ideas why it won't eat.
I took in the tortoise and have tried mazuri, zoomed pellets, dandelion, spring mix, opuntia fruit opuntia pad, escarole, squash, carrots and it won't go for anything .

Any advice? Also tried the warm baby food soak.

I also have 3 hermann's and a redfoot so I have some tort experience. Cage is warm 85 and 95 under mvb. About 60% humidity.[/QUOTE]

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
I may be wrong here, but 85 ambient temp seems too high for a Russian. What are night temps? Also, how is he acting otherwise? Does he just stay hiding or does he roam around? Peeing? Has he had any bowel movements at all since December? Possibly going through a brumation state? Just throwing out whatever I can think of.

Raymo2477

5 Year Member
Eastern, PA, USA
Hides all the time. Night temp mid 60s to low 70s. Only moves if picked up and since I've had him no bm or urine but I've only had him 2 days.

85 is on the warm side of the tub the cool side is in the mid 70s. It was 95 under the mvb.

He has a warm and cool hide but just stays in the closest one to where I put him.

I can't believe he hasn't eaten since December as being awake since then I would have thought he would have perished months ago. The previous owner just said she never saw him eat.

He is light but doesn't feel hollow.

Anyone know any tricks to help me out?

GeoTerraTestudo

5 Year Member
Broomfield, Colorado