russian tortoise

Status
Not open for further replies.

cher6714

5 Year Member
How often do most of you feed your russian? I am new to this and was told to let him eat for 20 minutes a day and then remove the food. I do that and my russian tries to lick the bowl clean like he is starving. Any advice would be great. Thanks.

spikethebest

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
i put as much down as they will eat in one sitting. and leave it there for the day, and clear it before i go to bed. some days they eat more, some days they eat less. but also make sure they drink a lot, either by themselves, or soak them.

tortoisenerd

5 Year Member
Washington
It depends on the tort, including how fast they eat. For a growing hatchling, egg laying female, or outdoor grazing tort, I would let them eat as much as they want. If the tort is overweight, then limit the food such as the 20 minute rule. If in between, you may want to get an idea if the amount you are feeding is appropriate or not with the following McIntyre ratio, based on SCL. People suggest to limit food because captive torts, especially Russians, can easily become overweight when fed a nutrient rich diet (more so than the weeds they get in the wild when not hibernating) and in a small enclosure (not much exercise). If the tort is visibly hungry (and not a hatchling, which I would just let eat as much as they want), why not try letting it eat as much as it wants until it walks away? That is a nice compromise between 20 minutes and as much as it wants.

5lsy93.jpg

Cameron

10 Year Member!
Oklahoma
i feed mine every other day. but i keep timothy hay in there all the time. don't think they care for it much, but if they are really hungry i'm sure they will eat it.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California