ROCK EATING-WHAT ARE THEY MISSING?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Xenaze

5 Year Member
Ahh!!! I am so glad someone brought this up!!

CALCIUM!!!

My Russian was trying to eat rocks for the longest time... I looked it up on russiantortoise.org, which is where I usually get all of my information, and they say it's from a lack of calcium :)

All I did was get a little 3oz. container of calcium powder by ZooMed called Repti Calcium looks like this it was only $5... I've been using this 2-3times a week for about 4 months and it looks like I haven't even used it! It's lasting really well :D

Julius25

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
France
i think they do this to help them to grind grenn in their stomac.
don't think they do it for mineral carence

Redstrike

10 Year Member!
New York
Xenaze said:

CALCIUM!!!

My Russian was trying to eat rocks for the longest time... I looked it up on russiantortoise.org, which is where I usually get all of my information, and they say it's from a lack of calcium :)

All I did was get a little 3oz. container of calcium powder by ZooMed called Repti Calcium looks like this it was only $5... I've been using this 2-3times a week for about 4 months and it looks like I haven't even used it! It's lasting really well :D

Yep, mine get calcium 4-5 days per week, still one persistently tries to eat rocks/dirt so this theory doesn't provide firm grounding as an explanation in my situation.

After about 1.5 weeks with Miner-All I still have the one that is still gunning for rocks, but I'm going to give it more time before I draw any conclusions.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Xenaze said:

CALCIUM!!!

From the ones that have had the problem or have used miner-all, I don't think their torts would have a lack of calcium. Not seeing that as the problem.

SulcataSquirt

5 Year Member
Missouri