Respiritory Infection update

Status
Not open for further replies.

voodoochild

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Tampa FL
I took "Ed" my redfoot to the vet a couple of weeks ago and was treated with injectable batryl. I took him back to the vet today and its not great news. He has lost weight and his appetite has gone down a bit in the last few days. They switched his meds to gentamycin that is administered with a nebulizer (or gas chamber). Even though I think I have a good vet I still like to run things by you guys to get your opinions.
Thanks,
Jon

Balboa

5 Year Member
PNW
RE: Respitory Infection update

I just went over the old thread and saw no discussion on humidity... and once again I'm a newb, so the more experienced may have other things to add, but...

Is the humidity in his enclosure too low? I'm strongly of the opinion that Redfoots need it both warm and humid. Warm and dry can lead to respiratory problems as well imho.

Humidity is one of the trickiest parts to keeping tropical reptiles. As evaporating water cools an enclosure it becomes an uphill battle to maintain 80+ on both heat and humidity.

LOL and just now I notice you keep a chameleon, so you probably know full well how tough humidity is ;)

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA

Yes, by all means...go over your husbandry and tweak it to be sure you have the best possible habitat for a redfoot. The nebulizer will provide added humidity, so you may have to raise the temp overall to maintain a healthy temperature.

voodoochild

10 Year Member!
Tampa FL

emysemys said:
Yes, by all means...go over your husbandry and tweak it to be sure you have the best possible habitat for a redfoot. The nebulizer will provide added humidity, so you may have to raise the temp overall to maintain a healthy temperature.