Red footed toroise diet?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kennedy98

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Massachusetts
Hey gues I am new to this and I wanted to know what is good to feed a red footed tortoise? I keep hearing diffrent things to feed them but I don't know whats the best.

Madkins007

10 Year Member!
Nebraska

Dudley

5 Year Member
Hi,..
Suggestions start at about a 70% greens to 30% fruit to some who do only fruit one day, only greens the next, then repeat, on the 7th day you have the protein day.

regards,..

Rosey

5 Year Member
Im pretty new to redfoot rearing as well but after INTENSIVE research and several posts on this forum I developed a diet that seems to be working WONDERFUL for my redfoot. Ill share it with you (if anyone has any advice or interjections please feel free, Im in NO way an expert)

This is what I feed Rosey:

Everyday she gets Spring mix with either kale, romaine or bok choy on top (just a little) Once in a while I will put spinich on top but only once or twice a month.

Also on top of her salad I pick something daily so that she has as varied a diet as possible. Ill either put butternut squash(one of her faves), mushroom, bell pepper, zucchini, kiwi, tomato, cactus pear, sweet potato, radish, canned tortoise food (called mix ins with papaya and banana). 3 to 5 times a week ill add cactus pad to the top of her salad as well. I give her the salad in the morning and she grazes on it at will. Then at night Ill give her a treat. Her FAVORITE thing in the world is strawberries. So Ill give her one half of a large strawberry or a small strawberry or some other type of fruit.(banana, blackberry, blueberries ect. just not to much! I do this 3 or 4 nights a week so that I dont give her to much fruit.

Then once a week she gets vitamins (reptolife) on top of her salad and then the following day calcium (reptocal)

She also gets a minky mouse on top of her salad every other week. She loves them as well.