pyramiding

Status
Not open for further replies.

Xastur

5 Year Member
Sigmar said:
Just what is pyramiding?

There is a thread stickied at the top of the board if you want to check it out that shows pyramiding. I could explain it but it wouldn't come out as eloquent as one of the experts on here so i will defer to them =)

Sigmar

5 Year Member
Well actually the sticky doesn't answer my question. I'm new to tortoises and the terminology. So my question still stands, what is it, what causes it and can it be cured?

kimber_lee_314

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
So Cal
Pyramiding is when the scutes abnormally grow up - in a pyramid fashion. The causes of it aren't completely known. The newest thoughts are humidity related. Others claim too much protein, not enough exercsie, or over feeding. It may actually be a combination of all of these things. From my experiences, my bets are on humidity. You can't cure it - but you can stop it in it's track if the husbandry is corrected. Hope that was somewhat helpful for you.

M

Maggie Cummings

Scan the Sulcata threads and most pictures that you see will have pyramided Sulcata. I say "most" because there are some smooth Sulcata pictures and knowing this group I'll get jumped on if I am not exactly correct in what I'm talking about...:p

ChiKat

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
FL
maggie3fan said:
Scan the Sulcata threads and most pictures that you see will have pyramided Sulcata. I say "most" because there are some smooth Sulcata pictures and knowing this group I'll get jumped on if I am not exactly correct in what I'm talking about...:p

*^&*%#$ what do you mean by "most" ? What are you trying to say Maggie?

I guess by most I meant you...always right there to jump on me!!!

Sigmar

5 Year Member
When you say scutes, these are the square pieces that make up the top of the shell? Like I said I'm pretty new to this

moswen

5 Year Member