Project Pig Nose (Now soft shell!)

Slasher

Hi from South Africa.
Please read my introduction for initial info.

I bought a 5" female Flying river/Pig nose turtle today.I want to setup a near to perfect 5ft tank for her but need help from more experienced keepers as I'm a total noob.I hope this will become a interesting project to share.

I would like for the people that has the knowledge to please give you're opinions as this project unfolds.I am axious to learn,listen and produce a suitable environment for her to be proud of.

Thank you

Last edited:

Millerlite

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Southern Calif.
How big is your turtle ? Fly rivers get huge. They do best in a pond like enclosure if you can provide one. They are excellent swimmers and rarely come out of the water

Kyle

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
I'll send an alert to @Will . At one time, I think he was involved with the pig nose or Carettochelys insculpta in some way or another.

Slasher

Hi Kyle

She is 5 inces.
Outside pond us going to be a no no for me.She would not survive winter here.

I was thinking of keeping her till she out grows what I can safely and humanely provide for her and then give her to a local zoo.

Last edited:

Millerlite

10 Year Member!
Southern Calif.
Hi Kyle

She is 5 inces.
Outside pond us going to be a no no for me.She would not survive winter here.