Please help (closed, swollen eyes)

DeeG

Location (City and/or State)
LIVERPOOL
Hi I am new to tortoise keeping! I have many reptiles and pets rats fish tanks but first time tortoise owning :), I purchased a horsefield tortoise 4 weeks ago from my pet store he was fine for the first week then went off his food I done all his temps correctly and fitted a heat mat for the nights so it doesn't drop below 16. He is living in a table. He stopped eating a week ago and his eyes were puffy so I started bathing him 2ce a day which helped but then his eyes closed over and have not opened over and have not opened in 5 days and he is refusing to eat. Please help

TheLastGreen

Johannesburg
Hi, follow this
Most of the advice you received from the petshop is most likely wrong.
Stop using the heatpad, some babies burrow and can burn on it.
16C seems way to low for a tort, follow the temps in the guide.
Can you send images of the tort and his enclosure?
@Tom @wellington

DeeG

LIVERPOOL
Hi, follow this
Most of the advice you received from the petshop is most likely wrong.
Stop using the heatpad, some babies burrow and can burn on it.
16C seems way to low for a tort, follow the temps in the guide.
Can you send images of the tort and his enclosure?
@Tom @wellington
Thankyou for your quick reply, the pet shop told me to only bath him once a week to! He is around 7 months old now I will take pics later this evening. The heat map is attached to the top not the bottom of the table it's on the lid of his bed part. The picture was the first week we got him he has loads of space the bult thermostat reaches 35degrees. Should I higher his heat mat of a night as they said to put it at 16degrees.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20211217-092619_Gallery.jpg
    Screenshot_20211217-092619_Gallery.jpg
    555.9 KB · Views: 27

TheLastGreen

Johannesburg